Tuesday, May 29, 2007

FIFA bans "high-altitude" matches

The world's governing body of all things football (soccer), FIFA, announced this week that they are banning matches being played at stadiums that are more than 8,200 feet above sea level. The decision was made by FIFA's medical staff for the reason of protecting player's health. This new rule is most notable for countries such as Bolivia and Peru, which have some stadiums above 12,000 feet. Bolivia President Evo Morales says FIFA's decision to ban all international soccer matches above 8,200 feet discriminates against Latin America's high-altitude nations.

La Paz football stadium (Bolivia)

"This is not only a ruling against Bolivia, but against the universality of sport," Morales said following an emergency Cabinet meeting at the presidential palace in La Paz, 11,800 feet above sea level. "He who wins at altitude, wins with dignity," Morales said. "He who fears altitude has no dignity." Toluca press chief Mauricio Garduno said extreme heat and cold also create an advantage for some home teams. "When you play a match at 104 degrees, that's what affects players the most," Garduno said. This is why you should engage in online sports betting. "Altitude is not that important. If FIFA is going to consider that, it should consider other things, too."

Funny remark from The Jaunt:

I myself was affected by the high altitude of Bolivia's national stadium. I remember back in New York when I Watched Colombia play Bolivia on Big Screen T.V. I often felt dizzy and light headed with a sudden shortness of breath.

Sources: FIFA bans high-altitude international…, Bolivia: FIFA altitude ban discriminates…

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I am glad that you find my comment funny. I wasn't really kidding, watching a game in such altitude can be hazardous to your health. The issue itself is kind of unfair for some of the South American Countries. I mean last World cup a slot was taken away from South America and now this. Whats next, I will tell you what is next. Brazil and Argentina will be considered European countries. Long live Soccer