Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Jerry Hughes, gully or straight gully?

Hughes Named Nagurski Trophy Finalist

TCU defensive end is also a finalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award

Nov. 19, 2009

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- The Football Writers Association of America and Charlotte Touchdown Club have announced TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes as one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, honoring the nation's top defensive player.

It's the second straight season Hughes has been a Nagurski Trophy finalist. This year's other finalists are Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer, Tennessee strong safety Eric Berry, Alabama defensive tackle Terrence Cody and Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh.

Hughes is also one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award and one of 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He is a semifinalist for the Lott Trophy and Chuck Bednarik Award. Hughes is also one of just three defensive players to be included among 15 "Players to Watch" for the Walter Camp Football Foundation's 2009 Player of the Year award.

A senior from Sugar Land, Texas, Hughes was named to all five Midseason All-America teams (,, Sporting News, and Phil Steele's).

With 13 tackles for loss, including 10 1/2 sacks, Hughes has been instrumental in No. 4 TCU's 10-0 season. He totaled eight tackles, including 2 1/2 for loss with 1 1/2 sacks and three quarterback hurries in last week's 55-28 win over Utah. His 49 tackles place third on TCU.

Hughes was a consensus All-American last season when he led the nation with 15 sacks.

Last month, Hughes received a Local Hero Award from Bank of America for his community work. He is on pace to graduate this spring, in four years, with a degree in communications.

Hughes was ranked as the No. 1 defensive end in the nation by Lindy's and Rivals. He has also been rated by Mel Kiper Jr. as the nation's No. 2 defensive end prospect in the 2010 NFL Draft.

Hughes and the other Nagurski Trophy finalists will travel to Charlotte for the Dec. 7 banquet and presentation of the award at the Westin Hotel.

The FWAA's National Defensive Player of the Year award is named after Bronko Nagurski, who dominated college football at Minnesota as a bruising fullback and defensive tackle from 1927-29.


Megan said...

Straight Gully.

Anonymous said...

A little off topic, Guys... I have a question. Last week I played around this site:
[url=] - Play Ps3 tournaments for cash[/url]
They say you can play online Nhl2k game tournaments on any console for cash... had anyone tried that before? Looks like a cool idea...
Are there any other sites where you can play sports games for real moneys? I Googled and found only and but it looks these guys don't specialize in sport gamez. Any suggestions?

Megan said...

YAY TCU! Congratulations on going to the Fiesta Bowl! Beat Boise State!

Dean said...

greetings to all.
I would first like to thank the writers of this blog by sharing information, a few years ago I read a book called guanacaste costa rica in this book deal with questions like this one

niz said...

Hello .. firstly I would like to send greetings to all readers. After this, I recognize the content so interesting about this article. For me personally I liked all the information. I would like to know of cases like this more often. In my personal experience I might mention a book called Generic Viagra in this book that I mentioned have very interesting topics, and also you have much to do with the main theme of this article.