Tuesday, October 27, 2009

TCU Named Tostitos National Team Of The Week

Horned Frogs honored for their 38-7 win at BYU

Oct. 26, 2009

DALLAS -- The board of the Football Writers Association of America has chosen sixth-ranked TCU as the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl National Team of the Week following its 38-7 win at BYU.

Andy Dalton threw for 241 yards and three touchdowns, while the Horned Frog defense recorded five sacks. TCU won its ninth straight game and has the fourth-longest current winning streak in the nation.

It's the second straight year TCU has received the honor following a win over BYU. The Horned Frogs were also selected after last season's 32-7 victory in Fort Worth. TCU was also a 2005 recipient following a 17-10 win at Oklahoma.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since 2002. This is the sixth season the award has been sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Gary Patterson was also named the the "Bear" Bryant Award watch list....

TCU's Gary Patterson has been named to the watch list for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Award, honoring the 2009 College Football Coach of the Year.

The Horned Frogs, ranked sixth, are 7-0 and one of only seven undefeated teams remaining in the nation. TCU has won nine in a row overall for the nation's fourth-longest current winning streak.

Patterson is in his ninth season as TCU's head coach. His 80-27 (.748) record ranks seventh nationally among active coaches. The Frogs have won at least 10 games in five of the last seven seasons. No other coach in TCU history has more than two 10-win campaigns.

The Bryant Award is voted on by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association and is the only college coaching award selected after all bowl games have been played.

No comments: